Boards & Commissions

The services provided by our Boards and Commissions are essential to the well being of the county. County residents who are interested in serving on a board or commission may obtain an application from the Clerk to Council or go to the link at left to submit your application online. Listed below are the many dedicated citizens who work for the County of Hampton.
All board meetings are open to the public. 

Airport Commission

 Meets: Monthly, 2nd Tuesday at 5:00 P.M.
Airport Pilot House
Jack Woodward, Chairman
 Charles Platts, Jr.
 Fred Mixson, Jr.
 Lional R. Ward
Lewis Hardison
 Adrian Priester
 Buddy Bullard, Ad Hoc

  All Wars Memorial Board

Meets:  As Needed
  Danny Dean
  Edd Goodman
  William Solomon, Jr.
  Mary Ann Sowell, Vice-Chair
  John Perry Williams
  Terry Wright
  Mac Smith

 Arts Council

 Meets:  2nd Monday, 7:00 P.M., Palmetto Theater
Annette Tuten, Chairwoman
John Glenn Wright, Vice Chairman
Nykki Smalls, Secretary
Heather Bruemmer, PIO
Cortney Gibbons
Dawn Flemming
 Board of Adjustments and Appeals

 Meets:  As Needed
 Wally Hiers, Chair
  Marc Priester
  George Cannon
 John McKenzie 

Board of Voter Registration and Elections 

Meets: Quarterly -  at 5:30 P.M. 
  B.T. Deloach Building

 Linda Givens, Chair
  Mark Altman
  Carlar Williams
 Elise S. McQuire
  Marvin Love
  Karen G. Scott

Council on Aging Advisory

Meets:  Every 2 Months, 3rd Monday, 4:00 PM, 
  108 Pine Street, Hampton
 Louise Hopkins, Chair
  Ann Long
  Neil E. Sullivan
  Carl Roach

 Disability and Special Needs Board




Economic Development Commission
  Meets:  3rd Tuesday, 12:00 Noon (Alternating Months)
  200 Jackson Avenue East, Hampton
Russ Bullard, Chairman
Glynis Avant

Buddy Bullard
Caroline Koger
Karen Terry

Jake Sullivan
 Dr. Ronald Wilcox
 Elizabeth Wooten
 Brian Burgess, Ad Hoc
 Bill Hager, Ad Hoc



Fire Board

 Meets:  Quarterly,  in the B.R..O.C. **, 6:30 P.M.
 703 2nd Street, Hampton
 Allen Terry, Chair
 Jody Hadwin
 Beth Chafin

Library Board

 Meets:  4th Tuesday, Hampton Library
 Dawn Winn 
 LaSonya Bryson-Murdaugh
 Clarissa Geddis
 Emerson Wiles

Annette Diamond
Dwana Doctor
Myrtle Sumter


 Lowcountry Resort and Tourism Board



Planning Commission

Meets:  4th Monday, 6:00 P.M.
B.T. Deloach Building*, Hampton
Barry Long
Mary Beth Poston
Ben Fennell
Laura McKenzie
Ashley Lawton


Tax Appeals Board

Meets:  As Needed
 Janie Rivers, Chair
  Sheila Bowers
 Don Curtis Deloach

 Transportation Commission Board



*    B.T. Deloach Building located at 201 Jackson Avenue West, Hampton (Conference Room B)
**  B.R.O.C. (Emergency Operations Center) located at 703 Second Street West, Hampton

Boards with County Representation

 Lowcountry Community Action Agency Dr. Roy Hollingsworth, Marcella Brown
 Lowcountry Council of Government 
 Lowcountry Council of Government Board   Rep. 
 Lowcountry Regional Transportation AuthorityWilliam Borum, Jr. 
 Lowcountry Workforce Investment BoardRichard Doctor, Buddy Bullard, Sandy Steele, Bridget Gray-Peeples
 New Life CenterDurena Marcum, Anthrown Roberts, Sarah Jo Whithycombe 
 Southern Carolina Alliance, Board of DirectorsNoah Alexander, Roy Hollingsworth, Bill Hager
 Southern Carolina Alliance, Advisory Board